Laugh until your face hurts

You know when you go see a movie and you’re worried you’ve built it up too much in your head because you’ve heard so many people rave about it? When it’s over you’re all like, “That’s what they were all worked up about? Whatever. So not worth it.” Well, that was not the case when I went to see Bridesmaids with a few friends on Friday. I laughed, Leighann almost vomited, Monica cried and we all shuddered in disgust a few times — I honestly can’t remember the last time I laughed that hard at a movie or anything else. When we left the theatre my cheeks ached from smiling for so long and part of me wanted to stay for the late show just to catch the jokes I’d missed while I was still chuckling about something else.

I love girl comedy. I love all comedy really but as much as I enjoyed The Hangover (1, I haven’t seen 2 yet), there’s something refreshing about watching an experience I can appreciate on personal level. What girl hasn’t hated her BFF’s new friend or at least had a really embarrassing bout of diarrhea?  I know that humiliation, I know that angst and that’s why Kristen Wigg’s movie spoke to me. I also identify a bit too much with both the good girl who got married young and her overly-experienced counterpart, depending on which friends I’m hanging around; and not because I’ve wanted to kiss a girl. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

It’s been a long time since I’ve had fun at the movies and I’m very excited about my return to the cinematic scene. The hubs isn’t a big movie goer you see, and it’s taken me 10 years to realize that if I want to see something, I have to go without him. It’s not so bad really, dad’s are the best kind of built in babysitter.

Have you seen Bridesmaids? What did you think?

