Staying up late. Was it good for you?

My boyz. I usually wake up to these adorable faces.

I know some people who are night owls β€” they stay awake until the wee hours of the morning on a nightly basis. Then they get up the next day and they function like that’s a totally normal thing to do. These people may or may not be related to me by marriage. One might be my mother-in-law. The other is absolutely my 7-year-old daughter.

When you’re preggers and daydreaming about the baby in your belly, you might have some vague idea that sleep will elude you for a while. But I never imagined this state of the eternally wakeful child. She’s never sleepy. She comes down 2-3 hours after we put her to bed, ready to party her head off. I am not this way.

I go to bed at 9:30. If I pass 9:30 I enter the zone of not sleepy. Like right now. I went out with some friend’s tonight and now I”m too wound up to sleep. Tomorrow this will not be good. Tomorrow I will forget whether or not I’m on hot lunch duty, Snuggle up and Read might slip my mind…. it could potentially be a disaster! OK, disaster for me might not be exactly the same thing as it is for a nuclear physicist, but you see where I’m going with this. Sleep is a beautiful thing for me.

I have a small queen sized bed and usually wake up with two or more children plus a dog in it. The hubs has usually left by then. How come they wake up so fresh and ready to take on the world? Tomorrow morning I wish everything would just stop, until I was ready to face it.

Dear God. How am I going to cope with teenagers?

Sleep. sweet sleep…Gotta go, my eyes are starting to face different directions.

