I’m a righter, write?

I think I’m having a career crisis. To be frank, I’ve  been having it for a while, I’m just kind of noticing it now. I was describing my job to someone yesterday and I said: “I’m  a writer, it’s what I do, it’s what I went to school for. I know this is what I’m supposed to be doing with my life.”

That sound’s pretty definitive, right? I’m in this for the long haul. Forget that sometimes writing is very trying for me, that it doesn’t seem to flow naturally unless it’s in blog form and that as soon as I have a deadline I become a banshee on steroids. Put all that aside and that’s my career. My chosen path, if you will.

Normally people just take that at face value. Not this smart chickie though. Nope, she says it sounds like I don’t really like it, and have I forgotten that I don’t really have to do this…

 

WHAT?

 

What does she mean I don’t have to do this? What else would I do? I’m a writer, right? I just have to figure out how to get paid for writing stuff I love. Or else, maybe I have to find a job that pays me to facebook and tweet all day long. Or maybe I need a job that pays me to eat cupcakes.

 

I’m sure I’ll find one of those. But then I’ll have to figure out childcare.

Cause God knows I don’t want to share my new-found cupcakes with my kids.

 

Oy.

 

What do you want to be when you grow up?

