Switching antidepressants

Sometimes Cymbalta makes me feel like I’m in the slanty room at Ottawa’s Museum of Science and Technology

I’ve been thinking about this for a while and today is the day I’m finally doing it. I’m switching up my anti-depressant cocktail in the hopes that the lingering blue haze that’s been bringing me for a few months will evaporate. I’m doing it just before the weekend so if I’m a wreck the hubs will be around.

It’s exciting and scary to try something new, but this time I’m doing it a little bit differently than I have in the past, I’m switching all at once. Yesterday I took cymbalta, today I took cipralex. I must say though, I’m really happy to bid adieu to the discontinuation side-effects I’ve been experiencing with Cymbalta — if I miss a dose by a few hours I feel horribly dizzy. When I was in the hospital having Peyton I missed a day or two of the stuff and I felt like the room was spinning and I was having crazy nightmares! It’s amazing, and quite disconcerting, that I’m putting something sooooo strong in my body on a daily basis. But on the other hand, the alternative is to feel bleak and hopeless and like I can’t handle my life any more. I choose chemicals! To me, it’s a no brainer.

In doing such a rapid switch, I’m afraid I’m going to get those dreaded discontinuation side-effects. My old doctor used to have me slowly come off one drug and slowly start another — I’d taper my dose down over a period of months and then finally start the new one. It worked, I didn’t usually get discontinuation side-effects, but I did get depressed and anxious all over again! So this time, hopefully, my mood will stay stable. That would be nice, especially since Christmas is coming up and take it from me, going into the holiday season in a bad head space isn’t a good idea! I did it once and ended up spending an entire visit with the hubs’ family locked up in my room. I was so anxious i couldn’t face the world.

So far I’m feeling a little dopey (like even more than usual!) but otherwise I’m fine. We’ll see what tomorrow brings. My doctor gave me lorazepam in case I get too anxious. I’ve never taken lorazepam before, my old doctor wouldn’t prescribe it to me because she said it was so addictive. Frankly, just knowing that I might get that anxious makes me anxious!

But this is going to be good…this switch is going to work. It has to because I say so! (Does the power of positive thinking work where prescription drugs are involved?)

Eek. I really hope this works!

Have you ever switched antidepressants? What has your experience like? Do you have any tips for me?

